Click "New event".
Your event has now been created.
Short events - with start and end date and times - are by default set as "Busy".
All-day events are by default set as "Available".
The "Modify details" link takes you to the detailed event creation window.
Click "New event" at the top of the sidebar to open the event creation window.
Key event details are shown at the top of the page.
You can invite others in the right-hand side of the window. Click the icon before each guest's name to set their participation as optional or required:
Tabs give you access to additional features: recurring events and availability search.
The "Information" tab is used to specify key event properties:
Reminder: used to set event alerts and reminders.
You can choose how notifications are shown using the "display" drop-down menu:
You can also set up default reminders for events. For more information go to: Calendar preferences
Attachments : used to attach files to calendar events.
This feature is available from Attachments.
Go to the "Repeat" tab to set how often an event is repeated: daily, weekly, monthly or yearly.
A sentence summarizing the repeat settings above the "Repeat" tab is updated as you fill in the form:
To delete one instance of an event:
The "Find a time" tab allows you to search for a common available time slot for event guests:
BlueMind automatically suggests the first available slot, shown between a green line and red line, based on the date entered in the form.
You can drag and move the whole slot with your mouse, or widen or narrow it by dragging the green and red lines separately.
When the time slot overlaps with one or several users' event(s), a warning message appears at the top of the page:
BlueMind Mail's linked attachments service allows you to attach files to calendar events – from version 3.5.13.
This feature relies on the linked attachments service set up for your email service. For users to be able to use this feature, the linked attachments service has to be installed and enabled and users must be given the following roles:
If you can't see either of these sections, please ask your administrator.
Once it is linked to an event, the file is available for download in the event details section at any time and it is sent in the invitation email to the event's participants if appropriate.
To add a file:
If you have the appropriate role enabled – i.e. "Drive" – a second link is available:
Click the trash icon next to the file's name to delete it.
Files attached to an event are sent to its participants in the invitation email:
File attachment/linking is completely automatic, it cannot be forced and applies to the combination of all attached files, even if some of them are small.
When an event has an attachment, a paperclip is shown in calendar view:
Files attached to an event can be downloaded at any time by opening the event's editing form:
This also applies to event attendees: they can find the files and their download links in their calendar.
Attendees can also add files, however, just like for other changes they make to an event, they will not be shared with the organizer or other attendees.
To modify an event:
|Changes made to tags or reminders are considered personal and are not notified to other participants. All other changes result in information updates being sent to participants.|
When you make changes to a recurring event – either by sliding the time slot in the calendar or using the event form – you are prompted to choose one of the following options:
From BlueMind 3.5.16, you can duplicate an event or meeting, i.e. create a copy that can be edited or delegated to another organizer independently from the original event.
To duplicate an event:
Make the desired changes
Changes work the same way as those made on existing events (see above paragraph).
For instance, for shared calendars, the organizer's drop-down list only shows users who have given read/write rights on their calendar and whose calendar is currently displayed in main view.
For recurring events, the duplication drop-down menu offers two options:
Duplicate: duplicates the whole series including recurring instances.
The new series is created with the times of the first instance and recurring instances – all instances are consistent and do not include any exceptions the original series may have contained.
When you duplicate a meeting, the new meeting is created with the same participants.
The new meeting is considered as a new independent meeting:
Changes made by the organizer or participants can be seen depending on the rights you have on the calendar the event is duplicated on – see next section for details.
If the duplicated event is on another user's calendar, there are several scenarios:
the other user has not given read/write rights on their calendar: the event is duplicated on your calendar and you are automatically set as the organizer.
In this case, if the original user was the organizer, they become a participant to the meeting and they will be invited.
Examples with two users
Alice opens John's calendar and clicks his event "User training" then "Duplicate":
As Alice has read/write rights, the organizer stays the same, the target event will still be on John's calendar. Alice edits the event and changes the title to "Admin training" the next day:
Once it is saved, the new event is shown on John's calendar:
Although he doesn't have read/rights on Alice's calendar, John can still duplicate her events:
The event is then copied on his own calendar (= he becomes the organizer) and Alice is invited to the meeting:
John edits the date to organize the meeting himself the following week:
After it is saved, the meeting is shown in their calendar with the new settings:
The original meeting remains unchanged:
To delete an event:
When you delete an event you are a participant in, the event will no longer be shown in your calendar, which means that you will not be able to change your participation status any more.
In Calendar, events are shown differently depending on your attendance status:
Event rejected: transparent color, contents crossed out
You can choose to display rejected events or not. To do this, go to your settings > Calendar > General tab: "Show rejected events".
This option isn't enabled by default, but it can be useful if you want to change your attendance status for an event you've declined to attend.
To accept or decline an invitation:
In the dialog box that opens, click the appropriate response button.
A message is sent to the meeting's organizer to inform them of your response.
The status is updated in the organizer's calendar.
In versions earlier than 3.5.15, you can change your attendance without informing the organizer – this isn't recommended as the organizer will not see your attendance status in their agenda.
For more information, please go toCalendar - §3 Working with meetings
You can view event creation and editing history.
In an event's detailed view, click "History":
Event history shows: